top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaggieAshley

I Shall Not Be Moved

Updated: Aug 29, 2019

It is difficult to go out in the world, in a professional and personal sense, and talk about things that precious few talk about. To consider possibilities of training that others are not comfortable examining yet. There is so much more to what I do than massage therapy - knowledge that makes me see things differently, that gives me a unique edge. Personal experience with straightness training and rehabilitation work…

Knowledge of the importance of spinal rotations and correct engagement of thoracic sling…

Minute differences in the posture of the horse that impacts their whole system…

But so often I feel uncomfortable talking about it. Not only that I feel clumsy with my words, but I worry that people don’t want to hear it. I have realised…just today actually…that it’s mostly my fear that is hiding this part of me away from the world. Fear of standing alone in the wilderness. But I have come to realise that I have to speak about it. I have to add my voice to the conversation. I have to talk about things that few others want to talk about, because it is important. Not only is it important to me personally, but I think it is important to us all as a community of horse owners/riders/trainers/therapists. We need to look at how we are working with our animals, what we are asking of them and how it is affecting them, how it is REALLY affecting them. Only then can we make change for the better. It starts with us being brave enough to have the tough conversations (and ensure that they are, in fact, conversations - filled with grace and give and take and forgiveness. This is not about force).

See, this is not simply about griping about international level competition. It all ALWAYS starts at home. It should always begin with self examination, with peeling away the rose coloured glasses and really looking at the training course you and your horse are on. Forgiving yourself for not knowing any better in the past, asking forgiveness from the horses you may have mistreated simply because you didn’t know any better. Realising that there is another way to train your horses, to work with them, to have a relationship with them. Learning and seeing where true self carriage comes from, and how easily it can be misunderstood. Beginning to see the possibilities of being able to use lateral exercises for their true purpose - releasing restriction, making postural corrections and building true strength. A gentle opening to the possibility of more.

It’s hard being on the outside - being a person who loves dressage but knows that the system is flawed. Constantly having to evaluate what I say before I say it because ‘I don’t know if that person is ready to hear this truth, they’ll just think I’m attacking them.’ But I’m lucky - I’ve got a great crew of people around me, beautiful friends who embrace the understanding of true self carriage and who deeply examine their own practices first. People who wander in the wilderness beside me, their journeys just as difficult but their hearts equally as resolute. And I am grateful for them every single day. Because, really, there is no blueprint for this life, no mapped out path through the wilderness. I know most definitely that I love my work - I love meeting new horses and their owners and becoming part of their journey. I know that knowledge is powerful and that new discoveries are being made every day. I know that the mainstream training methods employed nowadays are leading horses to early breakdown and physical distress. I know that things can change. I know that a curb bit is not a device of torture. I know that, biomechanically, long and low is damaging. I also know that I can explain passionately and wholeheartedly why I know these things to be true. I know that I approach every person with an open heart and an open mind and I am lucky to fill my days with owners who only want the best for their horses. I also know that horses have jobs, but we can still do our level best for them within that work frame.

I want to go forward from this point sharing what I know in the best ways that I can. I want to help - I always want to help - but now I want to help more people to understand that there are subtle changes they can make to their horse training and working methods, that may bring them into the wilderness too ;-)


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page